Mendokoro Ramenba

It was a “I want Ramen” kind of night. I was very tired and I had the urge to try Mendokoro Ramenba. My work is walking distance to this Ramen restaurant, so why not try it tonight?

When I got to Mendokoro Ramenba, there was a lengthy line already. It was a Saturday night (21:30) but there was still a significant line. The drill was: order, pay, wait to be seated, eat and go.

When I went inside, I ordered and I was queued 297 and they were currently serving 167. I was told that they can sit me easily because I only need “a” seat. That’s a relief! After twenty minutes, I was seated.

I had the following:

Shoyu

Php 410

IMG_20180127_210912_HDR.jpg

IMG_20180127_210902_HDR.jpg

Mendokoro Ramenba’s shoyu is very tasty. It was expected to be salty because it’s shoyu. Noodles’ texture and firmness were excellent. I was not able to appreciate the egg and chasu at the moment because it was soaked in the broth.

Extra Chashu

Php 140

IMG_20180127_210706_HDR.jpg

IMG_20180127_210650_HDR.jpg

If you tasted only one piece of chashu, it was heaven. But when you try to chuck three chashus and another one from your ramen, it would be too much. After I finished four chashus, I really felt full and unhealthy. Again, warning, share this with friends. Do not consume alone.

Gyoza

Php 120

IMG_20180127_210924_HDR.jpg

Mendokoro Ramenba’s gyoza might be the best gyoza I have tasted here in the Philippines. The gyoza wrapper was smooth, delicate and light. It was oily (of course) but the wrapper really did wonders in my palate.

I also had tamago (Php 90). I loved it. It was at its best when not soaked in the shoyu’s broth.

Not being biased on the fact that I was seated really fast, all the staff were efficient when I was there. I did not see my glass of water empty at all. They kept on refilling it once they saw it. The restroom was clean when I was there.

Will I come back to Mendokoro Ramenba anytime soon? I will not come back soon. Maybe I’ll eat here once a year. I prefer broths that are not too tasty. But I might take out the gyoza, if possible.

Additional tips:

  1. Ask for their special menu.
  2. Go to Mendokoro Ramenba at least 30 minutes before it opens specially if your a big group. Do not expect to be seated together. Or eat alone.
  3. Pace yourself and do not order like there’s no tomorrow like I did.

 

Review: 5/10

Mendokoro Ramenba
Ground Floor, V Corporate Center, Soliman Street, Salcedo Village, Makati.
(02) 478 9625 (but they do not accept reservations)
Open everyday 11:00 – 00:00

So, what do you think?